the barfly and the buk

10 Feb

I still count bukowski as one of the greatest, though my days of worshiping him are over. I can’t keep up with role models like that anymore.

I’m not sure about the poem in the background. Way too much to expect from a viewer. I like the crushed can. I think it being at the bottom of the image is good. I would have liked to include some words in the background, as I am sure bukowski would have. Words are healthy things when taken in moderation.

4 Responses to “the barfly and the buk”

  1. Noise Professor February 11, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    Dig it – subtle words are great – I missed them the first time around. I read so much Bukowski at one point in my life. Did you ever get into Fante? I think Ask the Dust is great – may have to read it again, as it’s been a while.

    • Todd Conaway February 11, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Yes, I did read Fante too. Both of their stories are so amazing. My reading habits are that when I find an author I like I read everything I can by them. I did that with Fante. I remember the feeling of the west, LA and Colorado, and the migration and family ties. The search for something better.

      Still have not watched the movie version of Dust all the way through. Don’t know why, because the book was so important to me too at one time? Strange.

  2. Jabiz Raisdana (Intrepidteacher) February 11, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    You are never too old for Bukowski. He mellowed out a lot in his old age too. He is like a big Buddhist saint. I have about ten of his books on my shelf and go to them in times of trouble. Love this poster. Well done.

    • Todd Conaway February 11, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      When I was reading him there was not YouTube or anyway to get video, or audio for that matter, of him. Even with the images of him on the book covers, there was such a feeling of, I don’t know, understanding.

      Now it is so beautiful to see him and hear him. I do not know how these other media alter the whole experience of an author’s work and life. Do we experience the words differently once we can connect the actual author’s face and voice to them?

      I am going to go find him speaking to me on YouTube. Right now!

Leave a Reply

