“I Like Every Minute of the Day”

16 Feb

My favorite work, or moment, from this class was clicking play to a song sung by @intrepidteacher and hearing someone out there in the course share voice and music with the class. The post he wrote was really reflective and thoughtful and I think it resonated with others in the class. The conversation he started was about reflective teaching practices. It was or is a great read as a blog post. At that time I was also introduced to SoundCloud and after that, there were some pretty cool things happening in that space.

As for my own work I think that my post pondering my daughter and her work on the web was really an insight to me at that time. I still have conversations often about her use of the internet and how the web works. I did buy her a domain and she does not really know what to do with it. All her needs are met by the various tools she and her friends use. They exist in the write/read web. They create and converse in the web and have no need to “own” a space. It is a very interesting thing to ponder for me, as I did in this post, and I relate it always to Gardener Campbell and his vision of the web. In some ways they are the same, but my daughter exists in a place that is very generic to what the web DOES, not IS. Weird.

I really have enjoyed the Twitter feed and the radio, though most of my day I cannot access it. The sheer abundance of people with so many talents is fantastic and the chance to converse with many of my role models in education is awesome. Especially because it is free!

So far so awesome! I am off to the Grand Canyon for the weekend and I am going to record the sound of Colorado River rapids and see what happens for the audio assignments.

2 Responses to ““I Like Every Minute of the Day””

  1. Jabiz Raisdana (Intrepid Teacher) February 16, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Thanks a lot Todd. That project meant a lot to me and it makes me happy and proud to know it resonated with at least one person.

    • Todd Conaway February 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      There are some really great comments to your post. I just when back and reread a couple. Jim is too funny. His great line, “The thing that encourages me still about this space is so much of it is still frontier shit, so we have possibility and surprise around every corner.”

      What a guy!Cheers to the frontier!

Leave a Reply

