Joe Strummer, Cogdog’s Mom, and Marshall McLuhan

25 Feb

As a parent of a thirteen year old and as someone who sits in front of a computer way too much I am in this strange zone that pulls me in two directions. One is that I can communicate in ways I could not otherwise with the computer and then I am thinking I just want to sit outside with the breeze, a coffee, and sounds of the village, and talk with someone. This morning while taking my daughter to school I told her balance was a key element in life. I forget what we were talking about, but I think that with these tools we have today it is important to balance our lives and not slip too deeply into one or the other. Too many tools and not enough brain?

I think right now I am saying these things because I have slipped too far…

My psychological distress aside, I was caught by a line in cogdog’s interview with his mom about technology and the challenges it brings and our reliance on it. I was also fascinated that at the same time she made the statement, I was learning from her while her voice was coming through the internet, to my phone, and she was in Florida, and it was all live and being listened too by others who were hearing her stories and thinking and learning from her! These tools shape us, as McLuhan said, and it was us, who shaped them.

It is all too wonderful. “Keep the Lantern Bright” do your work as best you can.  Here is a minute of mixed motherly voice, Joe Strummer, and me mumbling.

http://faculty.yc.edu/tconaway/communication.mp3%20
2 Responses to “Joe Strummer, Cogdog’s Mom, and Marshall McLuhan”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Remixing Mom’s Remix - CogDogBlog - February 27, 2011

    […] After this past week’s fun of getting my Mom to talk live on ds106 radio, it was fun to see the NoiseProf’s remix of her voice (taking mine out of the mix) tossed with D’Arcy Norman’s spooky guitar sounds and Todd’s mix with Joe Strummer plus Marshal McLuhan on backup. […]

  2. Remixing Mom’s Remix « Idea Dog - March 2, 2011

    […] After this past week’s fun of getting my Mom to talk live on ds106 radio, it was fun to see the NoiseProf’s remix of her voice (taking mine out of the mix) tossed with D’Arcy Norman’s spooky guitar sounds and Todd’s mix with Joe Strummer plus Marshal McLuhan on backup. […]

Leave a Reply

