ds106 Treaty in Audio

9 Mar

Inspired by @mburtis and her version of the treaty, and the excellent adaption by Peter Rowan, I figured I had to try. So I did. After listening to Martha, I had another voice in my head. It was rusty, old, tired, and angry. Here you go.
http://faculty.yc.edu/tconaway/ds106pirate_treaty.mp3%20

5 Responses to “ds106 Treaty in Audio”

  1. rowan_peter March 10, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    I love the delivery and I love the character. A tired old man at odds with the modern world. A man who drinks beer. A man who has seen too many dreams broken by a false promise and an unsigned a treaty. A (hu)man like us. Excellent stuff.

    🙂

  2. Todd Conaway March 10, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I added your treaty logo to my sidebar. Hope that is ok? Perhaps we can get a collection of them going?

    Broken dreams, broken vision. I liked the contrast between Martha’s exceptionally clear version and mine. As soon as I started listening to hers I heard this other, darker voice. Hers was word for word, and mine was all messed up buy still followed the basic outline. @Cogdogs OSX version is a great idea too. I added the three together here: http://soundcloud.com/todd-conaway/three-treaty-reading

    Messy buy Martha and the machine are pretty close most of the way through.

    • rowan_peter March 10, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Hey great! We can collect the whole set of ‘treaty badges’ submitted from each ‘delegate’.

      Nice work on combining the treaties!

      • Todd Conaway March 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

        I tweeted a request for badges to our #ds106 delegates.

        • rowan_peter March 11, 2011 at 7:14 am #

          Ah ha! The badges might actually be more like a ‘coat of arms’ or national emblem from the region the delegates represent! 🙂

Leave a Reply

