For the ds106 Radio Crew

28 Jun

At the start of the day I found this great post by Daryl Cook and among other nice thoughts and pieces of information it ended with a Mother Teresa quote saying that you cannot do great things, only small things with love. I immediately thought of the ds106 community and the face of the MOOC thing today and I reflected on the end of Joe Strummer’s life (what I understand of it anyway) and his desire to get small but get it right sort of attitude. And ds106radio of course. I laughed when I found this line from the beautiful Joe:

“If I had five million pounds I’d start a radio station because something needs to be done. It would be nice to turn on the radio and hear something that didn’t make you feel like smashing up the kitchen and strangling the cat.”

— Joe Strummer

I look at the funding needed to keep this ds106 event rolling and the camaraderie it has created and the love that has been poured into it. We got it going on. Moving ahead. Smiling.

So I am going to begin my day here in the sweltering southwest listening to some Mescaleros and Clash and try to do something human, with feeling, and keep it bright.

6 Responses to “For the ds106 Radio Crew”

  1. Daryl June 29, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Sounds like a great plan! Thanks for the link love 😀

  2. rowan_peter June 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I love seeing the pagan pirate archives posts come up in google reader. I always know your post is going to thoughtful and positive. Glad you’ve been posting to the Summer of Oblivion’.
    🙂

    • Todd Conaway June 29, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      Ha, I just sat in on one of the live classes and had a great time. The whole Oblivion thing is amazing. There is this girl, Bianca, who is missing her father? Crazy!

      Hope all is well and you are creating!

  3. Jim Groom June 30, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    You are very much this spirit, and what’s more is that ds10radio is that and more. I love that it has become a community rather than just and only a network. Networks seem far more professional, self-serving, and pragmatic—I want everything other than that. I want love!

    • Todd Conaway June 30, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      I kinda like the words “ball-of-fur” instead of something as crisp and electrical as “Network.”

      While some might say, “Oh yes, I have a rich and well developed PLN that enriches my development.” I think I am with you and I prefer something more like, “My frickin ball o’ fur, can you dig it!”

  4. CogDog June 30, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    By the order of the prophet
    we ban that boogie sound
    Degenerate the faithful
    With that crazy fur ball sound

Leave a Reply

