Lost ds106radio

3 Jul

I am not sure if this falls into the Jim Groom art category or one of the movie poster genres or just something strange and new?

But I have always loved the movie Lost Horizon ever since it scared the heck out of me as a child. I was super lucky later in life to dream up a class I called Utopian Philosophies of Education and read a bunch of books about Utopian settings and how they addressed schooling. It was pretty interesting and I wish I had some of the things I wrote for that class. I designed my own educational system and did some silly drawings of “schools.” Looking back, in may ways they were similar in pedagogy and philosophy as what ds106 is.

Hilton came from an era in literature that I loved, the 1920 to 40s, and the story recounts a story of a man named “Conway” which is dangerously close to “Conaway” which would be me.

I messed up with the font, I know. I did not go scouring the web for a similar one. Lame. I like the idea here and I am working on a book cover or a I can read movies assignment. Below are the original and the new.

2 Responses to “Lost ds106radio”

  1. Jim Groom July 4, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Good job on this, I loved the way you grafted the face, and the ds106 radio tower is seamless. Very, very cool, I really like it. Now you just have to change the names in the movie poster to match all the ds106radio heads 😉

    • Todd Conaway July 4, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

      Man, you are a tyrant! Happy fourth Jim Groom!

Leave a Reply

