My “Not Waking Up and Peeing” Audio Clip

3 Jul

I had a rather rough start with making an audio assignment as I paired with the awesome Alan Levine and the guy is an overachiever in most things. We did the American Life assignment, you can see and listen to it here. I did about five seconds of audio and he did twenty minutes. It was fun and a playful way to learn about Audacity. I had recorded many single track clips, but never really tried to mix anything with more than one. So it was a good learning experience.

This time I made a clip with seven tracks and it was pretty challenging. Still learning about the effects and track volume. I did not want to make the Groom mad so I tried to think of something semi-unique. I recorded a couple voice racks and added five or six more from Freesound. I used clips from the following users on Freesound: 7×7, noise collector, FreqMan, and digifishmusic.

Here you go:

4 Responses to “My “Not Waking Up and Peeing” Audio Clip”

  1. Ben July 4, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    I’m digging the near constant background chatter and conversation, gives a real good sense of the being in a busy room.

    • Todd Conaway July 4, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      I had some trouble getting my voice a bit louder. You can hear, but it is quiet. Maybe it is good that way? Pretty happy overall. At least there was not running water or toilets flushing. I might try that next though.

      • Ben July 4, 2011 at 2:08 am #

        The low voice helped, made you want to listen a bit closer, yet still try to pay attention to what’s going on around the room…almost like eavesdropping without trying to look like you are.

  2. Jim Groom July 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    it a second, are you taking a dump in the woods?! Damn you, Conaway!!! Well done, clean audio, and I can almost hear you dropping the kids off at the pool.

Leave a Reply

