@johnjohnson and Animated Everything

17 Jul

tumblr_mgbe7v6lMn1rggurro1_500@johnjohnson has produced a significant collection of gif work for the #ds106 community and today I saw one I had loved back when. Today I wrote some words to stand along side the motion of the angel Kerouac.

(ps. Just a few months ago I got to visit his mother’s home, the last home he lived in.)

HERE ARE WORDS

Look! I am Here!

On 9th and 3rd

The babies all them babies forward backward forward

Smoke going up, trying to explain it in vaporous lines

Hanging in the street like ether

Sucked by babes and men

Strait hard women smile like I smile

On the heavenly corner

Of 9th and 3rd

The babies float words high

On my mind.

3 Responses to “@johnjohnson and Animated Everything”

  1. Jim Groom July 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    Was that is Mom’s house in Long island or down in florida? I love the documentary “Looking for Jack Kerouac?” one of the most touching scenes is a 46 year old, drunken Kerouac coming to terms with the movement he had created on The Firing Line:

    “It was pure in my heart!”

    So beautiful.

    • Todd Conaway July 17, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

      Thanks man. Disillusionment gets deep when on drink. Seen it in so many eyes. Brutal. Yet. Yet! The dream remains and is so grand and so wonderful. And I like that.

  2. John Johnston July 18, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    Thanks Todd, I love how #ds106 stuff echoes and riffs through the web. Your words gif the gif, linking, augmenting and finding. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

