Sounds of the Grand Canyon

20 Feb

I spent Friday night at the bottom of the Grand Canyon with a friend and his two sons. We began the trip in nice weather and ended up hiking out in a blizzard. More or less. It was perfect.

I took my iPod and captured a few sounds. I have never done that before and was pretty pleased with the quality of the Belkin stereo mic I used. I captured the Colorado River, Bright Angel Creek, and the sounds of the famous mules. I do not know if this fits into any ds106 assignment, but I am happy I recorded them and have them here to share. I took a picture of each of the recording locations to give it some perspective. Not sure if that distracts from the sound or not?

Here is a link to a slideshow of several images. Here are the audio tracks on Soundcloud as CC. Mix em up!

 

 

7 Responses to “Sounds of the Grand Canyon”

  1. Noise Professor February 20, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Very cool. I love that you took a picture of the recording device – meta! The sounds work fine for me – it would be cool to have links to the sounds and explicit CC license for remix/mashup.

    The one and only time I visited the Grand Canyon, there was also a whiteout/blizzard/fogbank. Scores of tourists in buses drove up to that observation point place and got to see exactly nothing! 🙂 The next day it had all cleared out, and the canyon rim was beautifully dusted with snow.

  2. Todd Conaway February 20, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    The place is magical with snow, the quiet the snow creates is amplified by the massive space surrounding the emptiness.

    I places the mp3 files on my faculty website. I will place them to another location and allow CC use. Sorry, did not think of that. I have a free WordPress blog here that is kinds not happy with some scripts and embedding.

    I’ll post links in reply when added.

  3. Bryan February 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Would love to toy with the sounds when you get them posted! Would be much more authentic than the ‘canned’ sounds I used in this one: http://soundcloud.com/bryanjack/ee-cummings-prayer

    Thanks for sharing!

    Bryan

    • Todd Conaway February 20, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Here they are on SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/todd-conaway/sets/grand-canyon-sounds/ Have fun!

      The prayer is wonderful! I was picturing Whitman sitting in a field thinking out loud with sounds in his head, and then Rumi: “Say Yes, quickly” and then the banjo made me happy and reminded me of “But this I say, that he who best enjoys each passing day, is truly blessed” Stevenson and great layers of words and song and yes, the infinite! Awesome! You made it!

  4. José Carlos Figueiredo February 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    The sounds work fine.
    Great job 🙂
    Wish one day meet Grand Canyon

    • Todd Conaway February 20, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

      Tell me when you are going to be around! It is a great trip to be able to do.

Leave a comment